LIFE | Real Talk: Digital Detox

Okay, I admit it. I am a social media/Internet addict. I have relied on social media as one of my main sources of entertainment, to the point where I would choose it over catching up on a show, or reading a good book, or even… sleeping at a decent time. Yeah. It’s that bad.

Image

So when I found myself trying to crawl out of a really bad (metaphorical/mental) space about a month ago, my friend Emily suggested that I delete Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. To be honest, I didn’t think I could do it. I didn’t delete my accounts, just the apps from my phone, because that’s where I normally catch up on feeds. And sadly, for Facebook I did cheat a little bit by sneaking a look here and there when I was doing stuff on my computer (sorry, Emily!).

In the beginning it felt a little strange. Browsing Instagram was my way of waking myself up in the mornings. Not having Facebook and Twitter on my phone wasn’t too bad because I don’t use them that much to begin with. I thought I would cave within the first few days and download the apps again, or go on my computer just to browse, but I got used to it pretty soon. I found that I had more time to catch up on my TV shows, and I picked up blogging again. I was able to complete a few things that I had been putting off for awhile. This is not really that surprising I suppose. The biggest benefit I discovered was that I was doing things on a more timely fashion. Before this, there were mornings where I would have ample time to get ready for work, maybe even eat some breakfast before I leave the house, but I would almost always end up sabotaging myself by spending too much time scrolling on Instagram. Sigh. I was weak.

So tomorrow I get to download the apps again, and I am looking forward to that. Hopefully I will be able to control myself more this time around and not be scrolling till the wee hours of the night like I used to. Self control yo! 

 

tmp_mysig

Leave a Reply

