LISTS | Top 5: Current Blush Favourites

DSC_8323First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the condition of some of the blushes as a couple of them are fairly well used (one of them I had even hit pan on already), so I hope you won’t be too put off by the photos coming up.

I am a makeup junkie, there’s no denying that. I have way too much for what one person will use up in their lifetime, and in all honesty, I just love collecting makeup. When I am at a point where I feel like what I have is too much, I will go through my collection and weed out the under-performing products that haven’t been giving me any joy in their use.

Below I am showcasing the top 5 of my favourite blush products (four compact powders and one palette). Let me know if any of these are your favourites too, or if you have other loves, feel free to share your recommendations as well!

 

DSC_8316.jpg

As you will see, I prefer using peachy shades for my blushes because I find that they work better for my skin tone. I have a fairly strong yellow undertone and because of that I feel that most of the time blushes that are more towards pink or berry shades don’t really work that well for me.

I got this mini size Tarte blush in the shade “Paaarty” as part of this year’s Sephora birthday gift. It is a matte finish with a neutral peach tone and I like to wear this as an everyday blush just to add some colour to my cheeks. I find this shade to be very wearable as it does not contain any glitter or shimmers at all. It is very pigmented so I would use a very light hand when applying this but you could definitely build it up quite easily.

 

DSC_8314

Essence is a wonderfully affordable yet high quality drugstore brand that you can find in your neighbourhood Superstore or Walmart, and I think you can find the line in Shoppers Drug Marts as well. I picked up their Satin Touch Blushes the other day and immediately fell in love. I do have two of the older version of their blushes which are equally great, but Essence has really stepped up their game with these ones. These blushes have a satin finish, as the name indicates, and they are very blendable and easy to use. The peachier colour is called “Satin Coral” and the more cool toned one is called “Satin Love”. I have been using “Satin Love” the past couple days, and it’s a very interesting product. In the pan it looks really cool toned, almost mauve with some grey undertones, but on my cheeks it gives me a nice pinkish shade that isn’t overpoweringly pink. I have yet to use “Satin Coral” but from swatches of the testers in store, I know I am going to love it. The texture of these blushes are so buttery smooth but they don’t have a lot of fallout, and with the low price point, I think these are a must in your collection.

 

DSC_8318

Becca has got to be one of my top favourite brands to purchase from when it comes to blushes and highlighters. You really can’t go wrong with picking up a product from their company. I first got hooked onto products by Becca when I purchased the highlighting kit that had the mini size of their highlighter in “Opal” and I knew I was hooked for life. So when I saw that they had a blush palette that had a beautiful peachy shade right smack in the middle, I knew it was meant to be. My favourite shade is the one in the middle called “Songbird”. At first glance I thought the middle shade and the shade on the right, “Snapdragon”, would be too dark on my skintone, but I was pleasantly surprised with how well the shades blended out and it was pretty easy to fix if I did end up going in with a heavy hand. I like to mix “Songbird” with the shade on the left, “Wisteria”, to create a nice flush of colour on my cheeks.

 

DSC_8315

Last but not least, my number one go-to blush is a Wet n Wild Color Icon blush in the colour “Rosé Champagne”. It has the perfect shade of peach with very slight shimmer, which gives me the perfect wash of colour with a slight glow. I don’t even need to use a highlighter after using this blush. I had actually been using this blush so much that I finally hit pan! I’m probably going to wait a little bit and use up the entire blush before repurchasing though, because they had changed the formula/colour of “Rosé Champagne” since I bought it.

 

DSC_8308

Thank you for reading this super long post! Let me know if you have these blushes and what your thoughts are on them. Or if you have other recommendations let me know as well, I would love to hear from you!

tmp_mysig

Leave a Reply

